PDA

View Full Version : Starting a Gay/Straight Alliance

Pasadenacpl2
Jul 3, 2010, 3:19 AM
This year, as long as the powers that be allow it, I will be starting a Gay/Straight Alliance at my high school. I've been pondering it for a few years now, as some students have asked me to in the past. I finally feel as if I'm the right person for the gig now.

Any help any of you can lend would be fantastic. I am unsure of exactly what I'm doing (forging ahead blind, as it were), but I'm enthusiastic, so that helps, I suppose.

Thanks,
Pasa

Long Duck Dong
Jul 3, 2010, 3:39 AM
lol ok are you refering to a social school group, or something like that???

first things first.... make it non sexuality biased..... lol....
in english, not just gay / straight.... but lgb poly asexual and straight...... its a better image and look.....

do not give them extra rights that you would not afford to other students.... ie time out of class.... use the lunchtime, after school etc, instead.....

be careful of powerplays in the group.... this will happen when one sexuality wants to be seen as the *leaders *..... personally, I would have a * ruling council * with one person speaking for each sexuality..... that converses directly with the principal, you, the school board etc..... that gives the students the appearance that they all have a equal voice.....

homophobic bullying and abuse... it will be subtle, but it will be in the school.... attempts to try and remove it are a *walk on egg shells * situation.... you make the wrong call and you will send the message that your group gets extra protection over other bullied students.....

make it clear, its not a meat market.... the students want that.... take it out of school, they are at school to get a education, not laid.....